So Sorry

So Sorry

I'm sorry, two words
I always think after you're gone
When I realize I was acting all wrong
So selfish, two words that could describe
Oh, actions of mine when patience is in short supply

We don't need to say goodbye
We don't need to fight and cry
Oh we, we could hold each other tight
Tonight

We're so helpless
We're slaves to our impulses
We're afraid of our emotions
No one, knows where the shore is
We're divided by the ocean
And the only thing I know is
The answer it isn't for us
No the answer isn't for us

I'm sorry, two words
I always think, oh after you're gone
When I realize I was acting all wrong

We don't need to say goodbye
We don't need to fight and cry
No we, we could, we could hold each other tight
Tonight...
Tonight...
Tonight...
Tonight...

----------

After being turned on to Broken Social Scene by a good friend of mine, I am constantly amazed by all of the "side projects" that come out of that band, most recently (for me), Feist. She has collaborated with some of my favorite artists, including Wilco (on Wilco: The Album) and Beck (for his Record Club).

I never used to care much for song lyrics (featured above), but that has changed recently. However, the production of this track from The Reminder is what always draws me in. It's a collaboration of Gonzales, Feist, and Renaud Letang. It's deceptively minimalist -- just enough reverb on her starkly affecting voice, married with a dry acoustic guitar, and brushes. Of course, as you listen to it repeatedly, you understand how genius the added warbling Mellotron vibraphone, then piano, then backing chorus sneak in as her voice ramps up the emotion. You don't realize it intellectually. You just feel it.