Always

I saw a flag wave in the heavens over me
I saw the Virgin and for a moment I believed
You said you'd save me
But I don't want to be saved
I just want to be loved, and to love, always

I felt my lips move
But the words they were not mine
I heard you crying and for a moment
I could see
You said you'd save me but I don't want to be saved
I just want to be loved, and to love, always

And it's OK, I know what's confusing me
I know what I want to see
And I know where I want to be
 
And an angel was flying next to me
No hesitation
For a moment I was free
You said you'd save me
But I don't want to be saved
I just want to be loved, and to love, always

Trying to lighten the mood on the Song Pong with a little R & R (religion and romance). This is from Shea Seger's debut, The May Street Project (2000). I believe I am the only person in the country that still owns a copy of this CD. Want proof? You can walk into any used CD store in America and find it for $0.99 or lower. She was only 20 years old, from Texas, and moved to London to record this at the same time Britney Spears was all the rage — and the album tanked. The production (by Martin Terefe) is so much fun on this record -- and it's all over the place, too. Each song is in a different style, and though this duet relies heavily on the amazing pipes of Ron Sexsmith, Shea can belt out the tunes like a Rickie Lee Jones when the mood calls for it.